web analytics

EPO – The Jury – European Inventor Award 2016

The independent jury that judges proposals for the European Inventor Award consists of international authorities in the fields of business, science, academia and research.


José Luís Arnaut served as Portuguese Deputy Prime Minister between 2002 and 2004. His other government appointments include Minister for Cities, Local Administration, Housing and Regional Development, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Commission of the Parliament and Chairman of the Parliamentary Commission for National Defence of the Parliament of the Portuguese Republic. A member of the Portuguese Bar since 1991, and American Bar Associations since 1992, he has been practising as a European Patent Attorney and, since 1996, as a European Trademarks Attorney at the Office for Harmonisation of the Internal Market of the European Union and Official Agent of Intellectual Property at the Instituto Nacional da Propriedade Industrial. Mr Arnaut is Managing Partner of CMS Rui Pena & Arnaut, a law firm with a leading position in the Portuguese market. He is also a member of the Executive Board of the European law firm CMS Legal.

António Campinos has been Executive Director of the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) since 2010. He previously held the roles of IP Commissioner and President of the Directive Council of the National Institute of Industrial Property (INPI) of Portugal and Chairman of the Ad Hoc working group on the Legal Development of the Madrid System for the International Registration of Marks. From 2005 to 2007, he was head of the Portuguese delegation to EUIPO’s Administrative Board, becoming Chairman in 2007, prior to his election as President. Since 2013, Mr Campinos has also served as President of the Administrative Council of the Centre d’Études Internationales de la Propiété Intellectuelle (CEIPI).

Mandy Haberman is a British inventor and entrepreneur whose inventions include the Haberman® Feeder, used in hospitals throughout the world for over 30 years, and the Anywayup® cup, which since its launch in 1996 has revolutionised the nursery market with its non-spill technology. She was the Female Inventor of the Year 2000, a finalist in the Veuve Clicquot Business Woman of the Year Award 2003, and recognised by HM Queen Elizabeth II as a Pioneer to the Life of the Nation.

Wolfgang M. Heckl Director General of the Deutsches Museum in Munich, holds the Oskar von Miller chair for science communication as a professor of experimental physics and nanotechnology at the Technical University in Munich. He received the Communicator Prize from the German Science Foundation and was awarded the European Descartes Prize for Science Communication. He is spokesman of nanotechnology at the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech and chairman of the board of the Max-Planck-Institute for the Science of Light. He is the author of more than 200 peer review publications, and recently wrote a bestselling book entitled Die Kultur der Reparatur.

Ingeborg Hochmair holds a PhD in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Vienna. She is CEO, CTO and co-founder of MED-EL Medical Electronics Corporation, which she founded together with her husband Dr Erwin Hochmair in 1990. Together, they developed the very first microelectronic multichannel cochlear implant. She has received two honorary degrees in medicine for her pioneering scientific work and her continuing contribution to the development of implantable devices for people with hearing loss.

Richard L. Hudson has been a leading science and technology journalist in Europe for more than 30 years. He is CEO and Editor of ScienceIBusiness, a media company dedicated to European innovation strategy. He previously worked at the Wall Street Journal for 25 years, as reporter, technology editor and managing editor of the European edition. He is also co-author of a book on “fractal” analysis of financial markets with Yale/IBM mathematician Benoit Mandelbrot: “The (mis)Behavior of Markets: A fractal view of risk, ruin & reward.” Mr Hudson is a graduate of Harvard University and a former Knight Fellow at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Ivars Kalvins is Chairman of the Scientific Board of the Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis. With nearly 260 inventions and over 900 patents and patent applications, he is one of the world’s most prolific scientists and inventors in the field of medicinal chemistry, having developed a new generation of drugs mimicking natural compounds for targeted treatment and prevention of heart disease, stroke, Alzheimer’s and cancer. Ivars Kalvins holds a Ph.D. from the Latvian Academy of Sciences and a Doctor Habilitus in Chemistry from Saint Petersburg University. He has published 650 academic papers and contributed to more than 200 patents in the field of biomedicine.

Mario Moretti Polegato is the inventor of the Geox shoe, whose innovative, breathable technology has earned him numerous accolades, including CNBC European Business Leaders’ 2010 Innovator of the Year and Ernst & Young’s 2002 Entrepreneur of the Year. Moretti Polegato is Chairman of the Italian Geox Group, which has grown into one of the world’s top casual footwear companies. He also lectures on the subject of intellectual property at schools and universities throughout the world. He is Chairman of the International Advisory Board of Cardenal Herrera University in Valencia.

Ernö Rubik is an architect, designer, university professor and inventor of several mechanical puzzles, including the Rubik’s Cube. He founded Rubik Studio Ltd. and acts as its Managing Director and Chairman of Rubik’s Brand Ltd., London. Rubik formerly served as President of the Hungarian Academy of Engineering, which he helped found. He also formed the Rubik Foundation to support talented young engineers and industrial designers and is a member of the USA Science & Engineering Festival’s advisory board.

Laura van ’t Veer Laura van ’t Veer is co-founder and Chief Research Officer of Agendia, a company offering molecular cancer diagnostics. During a career in molecular oncology spanning over 25 years, she has published more than 230 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals. In 2010, Laura van ’t Veer was appointed Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Director of Applied Genomics at the University of California, San Francisco. She also heads the Netherlands Cancer Institute DNA-diagnostic laboratory. For her achievements in breast cancer research, she has received several awards including the Van der Scheuren Lecture Award, the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award, the Breast Cancer Research Fund Grant, and the EU 2014 Women Innovator Award second prize.

Cecilia Wikström has been a member of the European Parliament, representing the Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe, since 2009. Between 2002 and 2009, Wikström was a member of the Swedish Parliament for the Liberal People’s Party. She holds a bachelor degree in theology from the University of Uppsala, and has been a practising priest in the Swedish Church since 1994.

Cecilia Wikström has written several books including one about crisis management När livet går sönder (When life falls apart), a publication awarded book of the year in its genre in 2004.

More 'EPO - European Patent Office' videos